Water Conflicts , Mark Zeitoun, Naho Mirumachi & Jeroen Warner


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature,Ecology,Professional & Technical,Engineering,Environmental Engineering > Ecology | Published on 05/May/2020 09:49

2020-04-02T07:00:00Z
Water Conflicts applies cutting-edge thinking to identify pathways that can transform complex water conflicts. It challenges existing power-blind and politics-lite analysis that is very deeply-held and recurring in debates that suggest causal links between scarcity and violence-or peace. This book presents a much needed revision of transboundary water analysis, lead...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Introduction to WinBUGS for Ecologists , Marc Kery


Published in: itune > Ecology,Books,Science & Nature,Mathematics,Statistics > Ecology | Published on 05/May/2020 04:03

2010-07-19T07:00:00Z
Introduction to WinBUGS for Ecologists introduces applied Bayesian modeling to ecologists using the highly acclaimed, free WinBUGS software. It offers an understanding of statistical models as abstract representations of the various processes that give rise to a data set. Such an understanding is basic to the development of inference models tailored to specif...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Vertical Farm , Dr. Dickson Despommier


Published in: itune > Industries & Professions,Books,Business & Personal Finance,Professional & Technical,Engineering > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 18:39

2010-10-12T07:00:00Z
"The vertical farm is a world-changing innovation whose time has come. Dickson Despommier's visionary book provides a blueprint for securing the world's food supply and at the same time solving one of the gravest environmental crises facing us today."--Sting

Imagine a world where every town has their own local food source, grown in the safest way possible...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



What a Plant Knows , Daniel Chamovitz


Published in: itune > Life Sciences,Books,Science & Nature,Lifestyle & Home,Gardening,Nature > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 17:41

2012-05-22T07:00:00Z
How does a Venus flytrap know when to snap shut? Can it actually feel an insect's tiny, spindly legs? And how do cherry blossoms know when to bloom? Can they actually remember the weather?

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form--from Charles Darwin's early fascination with stems to Seymour Krelborn's distorted doting in [Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Hour of Land , Terry Tempest Williams


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature,Travel & Adventure,United States > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 16:29

2016-05-31T07:00:00Z
America's national parks are breathing spaces in a world in which such spaces are steadily disappearing, which is why more than 300 million people visit the parks each year. Now Terry Tempest Williams, the author of the environmental classic Refuge and the beloved memoir When Women Were Birds, returns with The Hour of Land, a literary cel...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Behavioral Ecology of the Tibetan Macaque , Jin-Hua Li, Lixing Sun & Peter M. Kappeler


Published in: itune > Life Sciences,Books,Science & Nature,Health, Mind & Body,Psychology,Nonfiction,Social Science,Anthropology,Ecology,Professional & Technical,Medical,Veterinary > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 16:28

2019-11-18T08:00:00Z
This open access book summarizes the multi-disciplinary results of one of China's main primatological research projects on the endemic Tibetan macaque (Macaca thibetana), which had continued for over 30 years, but which had never been reported on systematically. Dedicated to this exceptional Old World monkey, this book makes the work of Chinese primatolo...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Studies in Global Animal Law , Anne Peters


Published in: itune > Law,Books,Professional & Technical,Science & Nature,Ecology,Medical,Veterinary > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 15:43

2020-04-15T07:00:00Z
This open access book contains 13 contributions on global animal law, preceded by an introduction which explains key concepts and methods. Global Animal Law refers to the sum of legal rules and principles (both state-made and non-state-made) governing the interaction between humans and other animals, on a domestic, local, regional, and international level. Global an...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Ethics and Rhetoric of Invasion Ecology , James Stanescu & Kevin Cummings


Published in: itune > Language Arts & Disciplines,Books,Professional & Technical,Education,Science & Nature,Life Sciences > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 15:18

2016-10-26T07:00:00Z
The essays in this collection address the militaristic discourse deployed by humans against invasive species and consider alternative relationships of cohabitation.



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Mushroom Hunters , Langdon Cook


Published in: itune > Specific Ingredients,Books,Cookbooks, Food & Wine,Science & Nature,Nature,Nonfiction,Social Science > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 13:02

2013-09-10T07:00:00Z
In the tradition of Michael Pollan's The Omnivore's Dilemma, Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief, and Mark Kurlansky's Cod--a renowned culinary adventurer goes into the woods with the iconoclasts and outlaws who seek the world's most coveted ingredient . . . and one of nature's last truly wild foods: the uncultivated, uncontrollable mushroom....[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Encounters with the Archdruid , John McPhee


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 12:47

1977-10-01T07:00:00Z
The narratives in this book are of journeys made in three wildernesses - on a coastal island, in a Western mountain range, and on the Colorado River in the Grand Canyon. The four men portrayed here have different relationships to their environment, and they encounter each other on mountain trails, in forests and rapids, sometimes with reserve, sometimes with friendl...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Landscape Ecology in Theory and Practice , Monica G. Turner & Robert H. Gardner


Published in: itune > Ecology,Books,Science & Nature,Life Sciences,Politics & Current Events,Professional & Technical,Engineering > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 12:15

2015-10-29T07:00:00Z
This work provides in-depth analysis of the origins of landscape ecology and its close alignment with the understanding of scale, the causes of landscape pattern, and the interactions of spatial pattern with a variety of ecological processes. The text covers the quantitative approaches that are applied widely in landscape studies, with emphasis on their appropriate ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Darwin Comes to Town , Menno Schilthuizen


Published in: itune > Environment,Books,Science & Nature,Life Sciences > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 12:14

2018-04-03T07:00:00Z
*Carrion crows in the Japanese city of Sendai have learned to use passing traffic to crack nuts.

*Lizards in Puerto Rico are evolving feet that better grip surfaces like concrete.

*Europe's urban blackbirds sing at a higher pitch than their rural cousins, to be heardover the din of traffic.

How is this happening?

Me...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink





Subject Matters:

From Resources
Activities
Blogs

    Spread the love!
   Share on Facebook now