Sensitivity Analysis: Matrix Methods in Demography and Ecology , Hal Caswell


Published in: itune > Social Science,Books,Nonfiction,Science & Nature,Ecology,Mathematics > global warming | Published on 16/Aug/2021 17:27

2019-04-02T07:00:00Z
This open access book shows how to use sensitivity analysis in demography. It presents new methods for individuals, cohorts, and populations, with applications to humans, other animals, and plants. The analyses are based on matrix formulations of age-classified, stage-classified, and multistate population models. Methods are presented for linear and nonlinear, deter...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Something New Under the Sun , Alexandra Kleeman


Published in: itune > Fiction & Literature,Books,Literary > global warming | Published on 16/Aug/2021 13:40

2021-08-03T07:00:00Z
A novelist discovers the dark side of Hollywood and reckons with ambition, corruption, and connectedness in the age of environmental collapse and ecological awakening--a darkly unsettling near-future novel for readers of Don DeLillo and Ottessa Moshfegh

ONE OF SUMMER'S BEST BOOKS: The Wall Street Journal o Time o Vulture ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Bighorn Sheep: Contributions of Montana State University Graduate Students to Understanding a Vulnerable Species, 1965-2000 , L. R. Irby


Published in: itune > Ecology,Books,Science & Nature,Life Sciences > global warming | Published on 16/Aug/2021 12:23

2012-05-18T07:00:00Z
During 1965-2000, 21 Montana State University graduate students completed field studies of bighorn sheep (Ovis canadensis). Their studies indicate that bighorn sheep can be a viable part of Montana's fauna for the foreseeable future if managers reject the myths that have developed about bighorns. Bighorns need specialized habitat that is not found everywhere, but th...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Ecology without Nature , Timothy Morton


Published in: itune > Literary Criticism,Books,Fiction & Literature,Science & Nature,Nature > global warming | Published on 16/Aug/2021 06:12

2009-09-15T07:00:00Z
In <I>Ecology without Nature</I>, Timothy Morton argues that the chief stumbling block to environmental thinking is the image of nature itself. Ecological writers propose a new worldview, but their very zeal to preserve the natural world leads them away from the "nature" they revere. The problem is a symptom of the ecological catastrophe in which we are ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Once There Were Wolves , Charlotte McConaghy


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature > global warming | Published on 16/Aug/2021 05:13

2021-08-03T07:00:00Z
* INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER *

From the author of the beloved national bestseller Migrations, a pulse-pounding new novel set in the wild Scottish Highlands.


Inti Flynn arrives in Scotland with her twin sister, Aggie, to lead a team of biologists tasked with reintroducing fourteen gray wolves into the remote Highlands...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Why Size Matters , John Tyler Bonner


Published in: itune > Life Sciences,Books,Science & Nature,Biology,Ecology,Nature > global warming | Published on 24/May/2021 20:59

2011-12-05T08:00:00Z
John Tyler Bonner, one of our most distinguished and creative biologists, here offers a completely new perspective on the role of size in biology. In his hallmark friendly style, he explores the universal impact of being the right size. By examining stories ranging from Alice in Wonderland to Gulliver's Travels, he shows that humans have always been fascinated by th...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Metacommunity Ecology, Volume 59 , Mathew A. Leibold & Jonathan M. Chase


Published in: itune > Ecology,Books,Science & Nature,Life Sciences,Biology > global warming | Published on 24/May/2021 08:31

2017-12-18T08:00:00Z
Metacommunity ecology links smaller-scale processes that have been the provenance of population and community ecology--such as birth-death processes, species interactions, selection, and stochasticity--with larger-scale issues such as dispersal and habitat heterogeneity. Until now, the field has focused on evaluating the relative importance of distinct processes, wi...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



A Brief History of Earth , Andrew H. Knoll


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature,Geology > global warming | Published on 24/May/2021 06:49

2021-04-27T07:00:00Z
"A sublime chronicle of our planet." -Booklist, STARRED review

A primer for every Earth resident, by Harvard's acclaimed geologist

How well do you know the ground beneath your feet? 

Odds are, where you're standing was once cooking under a roiling sea of lava, crushed by a towering sheet of ice, rocked by a nearby mete...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Jehol Fossils , Mee-mann Chang, Pei-ji Chen, Yuan Wang & Yuan-qing Wang


Published in: itune > Science & Nature,Books,Ecology,Earth Sciences > global warming | Published on 24/May/2021 02:40

2011-09-02T07:00:00Z
No other single volume reference to the Jehol site and its fossils exists and nowhere is there such a collection of fine photos of the fossils concerned. This book has pieced together the most up-to-date information on the Jehol Biota, a place that has shown the world some of the most astonishing fossil finds including the first complete skeleton of Archaeopteryx in...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Medea Hypothesis , Peter Ward


Published in: itune > Earth Sciences,Books,Science & Nature,Life Sciences,Nature,Ecology > global warming | Published on 24/May/2021 02:14

2009-03-31T07:00:00Z
In The Medea Hypothesis, renowned paleontologist Peter Ward proposes a revolutionary and provocative vision of life's relationship with the Earth's biosphere--one that has frightening implications for our future, yet also offers hope. Using the latest discoveries from the geological record, he argues that life might be its own worst enemy. This stands in star...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Nature's Compass , James L. Gould & Carol Grant Gould


Published in: itune > Life Sciences,Books,Science & Nature,Ecology,Biology,Nature > global warming | Published on 23/May/2021 18:28

2012-04-29T07:00:00Z
The mysterious and remarkable ways that animals navigate

We know that animals cross miles of water, land, and sky with pinpoint precision on a daily basis. But it is only in recent years that scientists have learned how these astounding feats of navigation are actually accomplished. With colorful and thorough detail, Nature's Compass explore...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



A World Without Water (Global Warming Documentary)


Published in: youtube > Real Stories > global warming | Published on 18/May/2021 01:36

This film investigates the future of the world's water, and paints a disturbing picture of a world running out of the most basic of life's essentials. 8 year old Vanessa ...



Shared by   |   Permalink





Subject Matters:

From Resources
Activities
Blogs

    Spread the love!
   Share on Facebook now