Grassroots Stewardship , F. Stuart Chapin III


Published in: itune > Science & Nature,Books,Environment,Nature,Ecology > Sustainability | Published on 14/Jul/2020 03:52

2020-06-03T07:00:00Z
In a society more concerned with how to cope with existential dread than how to make actionable changes to save the planet, a surprisingly large number of Americans identify as environmentalists. What can individual people do to lessen human impacts on the planet? This is not an easy question. Most research is focused on large-scale changes that go beyond anything a...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Journeys of Trees: A Story about Forests, People, and the Future , Zach St. George


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature,Life Sciences > Sustainability | Published on 13/Jul/2020 16:12

2020-07-14T07:00:00Z
An urgent and illuminating portrait of forest migration, and of the people studying the forests of the past, protecting the forests of the present, and planting the forests of the future.

Forests are restless. Any time a tree dies or a new one sprouts, the forest that includes it has shifted. When new trees sprout in the same direction, the whole forest b...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Butcher's Guide to Well-Raised Meat , Joshua Applestone, Jessica Applestone & Alexandra Zissu


Published in: itune > Specific Ingredients,Books,Cookbooks, Food & Wine,Reference > Sustainability | Published on 13/Jul/2020 08:46

2011-06-07T07:00:00Z
The definitive guide to buying, cutting, and cooking local and sustainable meats, from the owners of Applestone Meat Company and the founders of Fleisher's Grass-Fed and Organic Meats

The butcher has reemerged in American culture as an essential guide in avoiding the evils of industrial meat--which not only tastes bad, but is also bad for one's hea...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Dark Age Ahead , Jane Jacobs


Published in: itune > Economics,Books,Business & Personal Finance,Finance,Nonfiction,Social Science,Sociology > Sustainability | Published on 13/Jul/2020 03:34

2005-05-17T07:00:00Z
In this indispensable book, urban visionary Jane Jacobs argues that as agrarianism gives way to a technology-based future, we're at risk of cultural collapse. Jacobs--renowned author of The Death and Life of Great American Cities and The Economy of Cities--pinpoints five pillars of our culture that are in serious decay: community and fam...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Migrations , Charlotte McConaghy


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 22:04

2020-08-04T07:00:00Z
NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"Transporting" (New York Times) ? "Hopeful" (Washington Post) ? "Powerful" (Los Angeles Times) ? "Thrilling" (TIME) ? "Tantalizingly beautiful" (Elle) ? "Suspenseful" (Vogue) ? "Aching and poignant" (Guardian)

For fans of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Hidden Lives of Owls , Leigh Calvez


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 20:30

2016-08-16T07:00:00Z
A New York Times bestseller for fans of H is for Hawk
 
Join naturalist Leigh Calvez as she explores the secret world of owls, from owl-watching to avian science--often in the dead of night. These creatures have a certain mystery about them, which is just part of what makes them so fascinating. Calvez relays scientific facts ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Sensitivity Analysis: Matrix Methods in Demography and Ecology , Hal Caswell


Published in: itune > Social Science,Books,Nonfiction,Science & Nature,Ecology,Mathematics > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 12:39

2019-04-02T07:00:00Z
This open access book shows how to use sensitivity analysis in demography. It presents new methods for individuals, cohorts, and populations, with applications to humans, other animals, and plants. The analyses are based on matrix formulations of age-classified, stage-classified, and multistate population models. Methods are presented for linear and nonlinear, deter...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Nature's Architect , Jim Crumley


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature,Ecology,Lifestyle & Home,Pets > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 10:44

2015-07-16T07:00:00Z
"Sublime writing... a genuinely important book" --Ken Lussey.

Hundreds of years after their extinction in these isles, beavers are back in Britain. These highly skilled engineers of the natural world have been reintroduced at several sites across the UK and, even as they become established, are already having a dramatic effect on our wild landscapes. [Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Traffic , Tom Vanderbilt


Published in: itune > Sociology,Books,Nonfiction,Social Science,Transportation,Health, Mind & Body,Psychology > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 09:10

2008-07-29T07:00:00Z
A New York Times Notable Book

One of the Best Books of the Year
The Washington Post o The Cleveland Plain-Dealer o Rocky Mountain News

In this brilliant, lively, and eye-opening investigation, Tom Vanderbilt examines the perceptual limits and cognitive underpinnings that make us worse driv...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



2020-04-28T07:00:00Z
We're back on the road for another time, completing research for The Magnificent Homes And Gardens Of The South Carolina Coast, Why at this time in early April?  Because her azaleas are in full bloom and maximum splendor.

Charleston is known as "The Holy City." Despite beliefs that the term dates to the city's earliest days and refers to its ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Chemical Ecology in Aquatic Systems , Christer Br?nmark & Lars-Anders Hansson


Published in: itune > Ecology,Books,Science & Nature,Life Sciences > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 03:08

2012-03-01T08:00:00Z
In recent years it has become increasingly clear that chemical interactions play a fundamental role in aquatic habitats and have far-reaching evolutionary and ecological implications. This book covers a wide range of studies, including both plants and animals, from different geographic regions and habitats - pelagic as well as benthic.



Shared by   |   Permalink



Ecology is Everywhere , The Ecology School / Philip Mathieu


Published in: itune > Natural Sciences,Natural Sciences,Podcasts,Science,Business,Careers > Sustainability | Published on 10/Mar/2020 03:49

2020-08-18T04:00:00Z USA



Shared by   |   Permalink





Subject Matters:

From Resources
Activities
Blogs

    Spread the love!
   Share on Facebook now