Migrations , Charlotte McConaghy


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 22:04

2020-08-04T07:00:00Z
"Migrations is as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read. This is an extraordinary novel by a wildly talented writer." --Emily St. John Mandel

"I recommend Migrations with my whole heart."
--Geraldine Brooks

For fans of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of ca...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Hidden Lives of Owls , Leigh Calvez


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 20:30

2016-08-16T07:00:00Z
A New York Times bestseller for fans of H is for Hawk
 
Join naturalist Leigh Calvez as she explores the secret world of owls, from owl-watching to avian science--often in the dead of night. These creatures have a certain mystery about them, which is just part of what makes them so fascinating. Calvez relays scientific facts ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Sensitivity Analysis: Matrix Methods in Demography and Ecology , Hal Caswell


Published in: itune > Social Science,Books,Nonfiction,Science & Nature,Ecology,Mathematics > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 12:39

2019-04-02T07:00:00Z
This open access book shows how to use sensitivity analysis in demography. It presents new methods for individuals, cohorts, and populations, with applications to humans, other animals, and plants. The analyses are based on matrix formulations of age-classified, stage-classified, and multistate population models. Methods are presented for linear and nonlinear, deter...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Nature's Architect , Jim Crumley


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature,Ecology,Lifestyle & Home,Pets > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 10:44

2015-07-16T07:00:00Z
"Sublime writing... a genuinely important book" --Ken Lussey.

Hundreds of years after their extinction in these isles, beavers are back in Britain. These highly skilled engineers of the natural world have been reintroduced at several sites across the UK and, even as they become established, are already having a dramatic effect on our wild landscapes. [Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Traffic , Tom Vanderbilt


Published in: itune > Sociology,Books,Nonfiction,Social Science,Transportation,Health, Mind & Body,Psychology > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 09:10

2008-07-29T07:00:00Z
A New York Times Notable Book

One of the Best Books of the Year
The Washington Post o The Cleveland Plain-Dealer o Rocky Mountain News

In this brilliant, lively, and eye-opening investigation, Tom Vanderbilt examines the perceptual limits and cognitive underpinnings that make us worse driv...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



2020-04-28T07:00:00Z
We're back on the road for another time, completing research for The Magnificent Homes And Gardens Of The South Carolina Coast, Why at this time in early April?  Because her azaleas are in full bloom and maximum splendor.

Charleston is known as "The Holy City." Despite beliefs that the term dates to the city's earliest days and refers to its ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Chemical Ecology in Aquatic Systems , Christer Br?nmark & Lars-Anders Hansson


Published in: itune > Ecology,Books,Science & Nature,Life Sciences > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 03:08

2012-03-01T08:00:00Z
In recent years it has become increasingly clear that chemical interactions play a fundamental role in aquatic habitats and have far-reaching evolutionary and ecological implications. This book covers a wide range of studies, including both plants and animals, from different geographic regions and habitats - pelagic as well as benthic.



Shared by   |   Permalink



Sustainability A Guide to Triple Bottom Line Reporting


Published in: Google Books > Sustainable development > Sustainability | Published on 17/Mar/2020 05:17

52 pages , 2003
Sustainability: a guide to triple bottom line reporting.



Shared by   |   Permalink



Urban Water Sustainability Constructing Infrastructure for Cities and Nature


Published in: Google Books > Technology & Engineering > Sustainability | Published on 17/Mar/2020 03:16

186 pages , Routledge , 2017-12-22
The provision of a safe and reliable water supply is a major challenge for the world's growing urban populations. This book investigates the implications of different developments in water technology and infrastructure for urban sustainability and the relationship between cities and nature. The book begins by outlining five frameworks f...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The World We'll Leave Behind Grasping the Sustainability Challenge


Published in: Google Books > Business & Economics > Sustainability | Published on 16/Mar/2020 23:25

242 pages , Routledge , 2018-02-05
It is now clear that human activity has influenced how the biosphere supports life on Earth, and given rise to a set of connected environmental and social problems. In response to the challenge that these problems present, a series of international conferences and summits led to discussions of sustainable development and the core dilemm...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Food Security, Nutrition and Sustainability


Published in: Google Books > Business & Economics > Sustainability | Published on 16/Mar/2020 22:51

320 pages , Routledge , 2013-10-18
As the threats of food insecurity loom ever larger, the world faces the sad irony of food shortages in the global South alongside a purported 'obesity epidemic' in the global North. The twin issues of food production and food access are of particular concern in the context of climate change, 'peak oil', biofuels, and land grabs by wealt...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Third Plate Field Notes on the Future of Food


Published in: Google Books > Social Science > Sustainability | Published on 16/Mar/2020 18:20

496 pages , Penguin , 2014-05-20
“Not since Michael Pollan has such a powerful storyteller emerged to reform American food.” —The Washington Post Today’s optimistic farm-to-table food culture has a dark secret: the local food movement has failed to change how we eat. It has also offered a false promise for the future of food. In his visionary New York Times–bes...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink





Subject Matters:

From Resources
Activities
Blogs

    Spread the love!
   Share on Facebook now