The Life of the Bee , Maurice Maeterlinck & Alfred Sutro


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature,Fiction & Literature,Life Sciences,Lifestyle & Home,Pets,Ecology > environmental issues | Published on 29/Jun/2020 04:40

2020-01-14T08:00:00Z
"If the bee disappeared off the face of the earth, man would only have four years left to live."

Maurice Maeterlinck received the 1911 Nobel Prize for Literature, for this excellent book about the life of bees. Far from being an entomologist's study paper, this magnificent poetic work puts the nature of this very special insect centre stage....[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Migrations , Charlotte McConaghy


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 22:04

2020-08-04T07:00:00Z
"Migrations is as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read. This is an extraordinary novel by a wildly talented writer." --Emily St. John Mandel

"I recommend Migrations with my whole heart."
--Geraldine Brooks

For fans of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of ca...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Fueling Culture , Imre Szeman, Jennifer Wenzel & Patricia Yaeger


Published in: itune > Ecology,Books,Science & Nature,Politics & Current Events,Fiction & Literature,Literary Criticism,Life Sciences > green energy | Published on 31/Mar/2020 17:30

2017-02-01T08:00:00Z
How has our relation to energy changed over time? What differences do particular energy sources make to human values, politics, and imagination? How have transitions from one energy source to another--from wood to coal, or from oil to solar to whatever comes next--transformed culture and society? What are the implications of uneven access to energy in the past, pres...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Squeeze Me , Carl Hiaasen


Published in: itune > Mysteries & Thrillers,Books,Fiction & Literature > green energy | Published on 31/Mar/2020 01:36

2020-08-25T07:00:00Z
From the best-selling author of Skinny Dip and Razor Girl, a hilarious new novel of social and political intrigue, set against the glittering backdrop of Florida's gold coast.

It's the height of the Palm Beach charity ball season: for every disease or cause, there's a reason for the local luminaries to eat (minimally), drink (maximall...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Venus on the Half-Shell , Philip Jos? Farmer


Published in: itune > Fiction & Literature,Books,Sci-Fi & Fantasy,Science Fiction & Literature,Adventure > ecology for kids | Published on 30/Dec/2019 08:53

2013-12-10T08:00:00Z
Simon Wagstaff narrowly escapes the Deluge that destroys Earth when he happens upon an abandoned spaceship. A man without a planet, he gains immortality from an elixir drunk during an interlude with a cat-like alien queen. Now Simon must chart a 3,000-year course to the most distant corners of the multiverse, to seek out the answers to the questions no one can seem ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Tusk That Did the Damage , Tania James


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature,Action & Adventure > environmental sustainability | Published on 11/Nov/2019 08:11

2015-03-10T07:00:00Z
From the critically acclaimed author of Atlas of Unknowns and Aerogrammes, a tour de force set in South India that plumbs the moral complexities of the ivory trade through the eyes of a poacher, a documentary filmmaker, and, in a feat of audacious imagination, an infamous elephant known as the Gravedigger.

Orphaned by poachers as a calf and ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



High Tide in Tucson , Barbara Kingsolver


Published in: itune > Essays,Books,Fiction & Literature,Science & Nature,Nature > environmental education | Published on 05/Nov/2019 06:29

2009-03-17T07:00:00Z
"There is no one quite like Barbara Kingsolver in contemporary literature," raves the Washington Post Book World, and it is right. She has been nominated three times for the ABBY award, and her critically acclaimed writings consistently enjoy spectacular commercial success as they entertain and touch her legions of loyal fans.
In High Tide in Tucson, she retu...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Singer from the Sea , Sheri S. Tepper


Published in: itune > Sci-Fi & Fantasy,Books,Science Fiction & Literature,Adventure > green energy | Published on 07/Oct/2019 11:11

2010-07-13T07:00:00Z
A good and proper aristocrat on the isolated, seemingly backward planet of Haven, Genevieve has been carefully instructed in the Covenants -- the ancient, inflexible laws governing the women of her class. She knows what is expected of her: marriage in her mid-twenties to a groom of her father's choosing, childbirth at age thirty. And then soon afterwards -- as has b...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Fifth Sacred Thing , Starhawk


Published in: itune > Contemporary,Books,Sci-Fi & Fantasy,Fantasy,Fiction & Literature > Environmental protection | Published on 24/Sep/2019 10:58

1993-05-01T07:00:00Z
An epic tale of freedom and slavery, love and war, and the potential futures of humankind tells of a twenty-first century California clan caught between two clashing worlds, one based on tolerance, the other on repression.

Declaration of the Four Sacred Things

The earth is a living, conscious being. In company with cultures of ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Island , Aldous Huxley


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature,Classics > Environmental protection | Published on 24/Sep/2019 01:34

2010-01-05T08:00:00Z
In his final novel, which he considered his most important, Aldous Huxley transports us to the remote Pacific island of Pala, where an ideal society has flourished for 120 years.

Inevitably, this island of bliss attracts the envy and enmity of the surrounding world. A conspiracy is underway to take over Pala, and events are set in motion when an agent of...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



1989-08-27T07:00:00Z
"One of the most satisfying science fiction novels I have read in years."--The New York Times Book Review

Here is a novel as original as the breathtaking, unspoiled world for which it is named, a place where all appears to be in idyllic balance. Generations ago, humans fled to the cosmic anomaly known as Grass. Over time, they evolved a new...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Terranauts , T.C. Boyle


Published in: itune > Historical,Books,Fiction & Literature,Literary > Environmental protection | Published on 23/Sep/2019 17:43

2016-10-25T07:00:00Z
A deep-dive into human behavior in an epic story of science, society, sex, and survival, from one of the greatest American novelists today, T. C. Boyle, the acclaimed, bestselling, author of the PEN/ Faulkner Award-winning World's End and The Harder They Come.

It is 1994, and in the desert near Tillman, Arizona, forty miles from Tucson, a grand experiment...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink





Subject Matters:

From Resources
Activities
Blogs

    Spread the love!
   Share on Facebook now