Something New Under the Sun , Alexandra Kleeman


Published in: itune > Fiction & Literature,Books,Literary > global warming | Published on 16/Aug/2021 13:40

2021-08-03T07:00:00Z
A novelist discovers the dark side of Hollywood and reckons with ambition, corruption, and connectedness in the age of environmental collapse and ecological awakening--a darkly unsettling near-future novel for readers of Don DeLillo and Ottessa Moshfegh

ONE OF SUMMER'S BEST BOOKS: The Wall Street Journal o Time o Vulture ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Ecology without Nature , Timothy Morton


Published in: itune > Literary Criticism,Books,Fiction & Literature,Science & Nature,Nature > global warming | Published on 16/Aug/2021 06:12

2009-09-15T07:00:00Z
In <I>Ecology without Nature</I>, Timothy Morton argues that the chief stumbling block to environmental thinking is the image of nature itself. Ecological writers propose a new worldview, but their very zeal to preserve the natural world leads them away from the "nature" they revere. The problem is a symptom of the ecological catastrophe in which we are ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Once There Were Wolves , Charlotte McConaghy


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature > global warming | Published on 16/Aug/2021 05:13

2021-08-03T07:00:00Z
* INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER *

From the author of the beloved national bestseller Migrations, a pulse-pounding new novel set in the wild Scottish Highlands.


Inti Flynn arrives in Scotland with her twin sister, Aggie, to lead a team of biologists tasked with reintroducing fourteen gray wolves into the remote Highlands...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Appleseed , Matt Bell


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature,Sci-Fi & Fantasy,Science Fiction > environmental sustainability | Published on 28/Jun/2021 16:14

2021-07-13T07:00:00Z
NAMED A BEST BOOK OF SUMMER BY THE NEW YORK TIMES * USA TODAY * ESQUIRE * PHILADELPHIA INQUIRER * LITERARY HUB * GOODREADS * BUSTLE * BOOK RIOT *

"Woven together out of the strands of myth, science fiction, and ecological warning, Matt Bell's Appleseed is as urgent as it is audacious." --Kelly Link, Get in Trouble

A "work of incandescent imagin...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Blackfish City , Sam J. Miller


Published in: itune > Contemporary,Books,Sci-Fi & Fantasy,Fantasy,Science Fiction,Fiction & Literature > environmental sustainability | Published on 28/Jun/2021 07:35

2018-04-17T07:00:00Z
"One of the most intriguing future cities in years." --Charlie Jane Anders

"Simmers with menace and heartache, suspense and wonder." --Ann Leckie

A Best Book of the Month in

Entertainment Weekly

The Washington Post

Tor.com

B&N Sci-Fi Fantasy Blog

Amazon

After the climate war...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Bees , Laline Paull


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature,Sci-Fi & Fantasy,Fantasy > environmental issues | Published on 31/May/2021 21:54

2014-05-06T07:00:00Z
The Handmaid's Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the queen may breed and deformity means death.

Flora 717 is a sanitation worker, a member of the lowest caste in her orchard hive where work and sacrifice are the highest virtues and worship of the beloved Queen the only religion. But Flora i...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Double Blind , Edward St Aubyn


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature > environmental issues | Published on 31/May/2021 20:19

2021-06-01T07:00:00Z
Double Blind follows three close friends and their circle through a year of extraordinary transformation. Set between London, Cap d'Antibes, Big Sur, and a rewilded corner of Sussex, this thrilling, ambitious novel is about the headlong pursuit of knowledge--for the purposes of pleasure, revelation, money, sanity, or survival--and the consequences of fleei...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Hopes , Yannick Monget, Albert de Monaco, Jean-Francois Clervoy, Yves Coppens, Jean-Michel Cousteau, Shirin Ebadi, Jane Goodall, Claudie Haigner?, Nicolas Hulot, Tawakkol Karman, Jean Lemire, Chief Raoni, Hindou Oumarou, Bertrand Piccard, Hubert Reeves, Matthieu Ricard, Trinh Xuan Thuan, Paul Watson, Jody Williams, Richard Garriott, Luc Hardy, Naoto Kan, Setsuko Thurlow, Allain Bougrain Dubourg, Angaangaq Angakkorsuaq, Jacques Arnould, Sandra Bessudo, Gille Boeuf, Val?rie Cabanes, Ian Dunlop, Juan Espadas, Michel Jarraud, Jean Jouzel, Mundiya Kepanga, Kenny Matempash, Nathalie Meusy, Bernard Norlain, Rapha?l Pitti, Sergey Revin, Jacques Rougerie, Philippe Vallette & Ren Yabuki


Published in: itune > Media Arts,Books,Arts & Entertainment,Sci-Fi & Fantasy,Science Fiction,Science & Nature,Ecology,Fiction & Literature,Science Fiction & Literature,High Tech,Nature,Photography,Environment,Mysteries & Thrillers > environmental issues | Published on 31/May/2021 17:51

2021-04-02T07:00:00Z
What does the future hold in store for our world? What threats brought on by global warming, the global economic crisis or our sometimes indiscriminate manipulation of technology could cause major upheaval in the years, decades and centuries to come? And above all, what ethical, social and technological revolutions could presage a new era full of hope instead...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Fragile Earth , David Remnick & Henry Finder


Published in: itune > Science & Nature,Books,Fiction & Literature,Essays,Environment > environmental sustainability | Published on 22/Mar/2021 03:05

2020-10-06T07:00:00Z
A New York Times New & Noteworthy Book

One of the Daily Beast's 5 Essential Books to Read Before the Election

A collection of the New Yorker's groundbreaking reporting from the front lines of climate change--including writing from Bill McKibben, Elizabeth Kolbert, Ian Frazier, Kathryn Schulz, and more

Just one year...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



When the Killing's Done , T.C. Boyle


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature,Historical,Family > Ecology | Published on 28/Jul/2020 05:25

2011-02-22T08:00:00Z
From the bestselling author of The Women comes an action- packed adventure about endangered animals and those who protect them.

Principally set on the wild and sparsely inhabited Channel Islands off the coast of Santa Barbara, T.C. Boyle's powerful new novel combines pulse-pounding adventure with a socially conscious, richly humane tale r...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Life of the Bee , Maurice Maeterlinck & Alfred Sutro


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature,Fiction & Literature,Life Sciences,Lifestyle & Home,Pets,Ecology > environmental issues | Published on 29/Jun/2020 04:40

2020-01-14T08:00:00Z
"If the bee disappeared off the face of the earth, man would only have four years left to live."

Maurice Maeterlinck received the 1911 Nobel Prize for Literature, for this excellent book about the life of bees. Far from being an entomologist's study paper, this magnificent poetic work puts the nature of this very special insect centre stage....[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Migrations , Charlotte McConaghy


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 22:04

2020-08-04T07:00:00Z
* INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER *

Amazon Editors' Pick for Best Book of the Year in Fiction

"Visceral and haunting" (New York Times Book Review) ? "Hopeful" (Washington Post) ? "Powerful" (Los Angeles Times) ? "Thrilling" (TIME) ? "Tantalizingly beautiful" (Elle) ? "Suspenseful, atmospheric" ([Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink





Subject Matters:

From Resources
Activities
Blogs

    Spread the love!
   Share on Facebook now