Migrations , Charlotte McConaghy


Published in: itune > Literary,Books,Fiction & Literature > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 22:04

2020-08-04T07:00:00Z
"Migrations is as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read. This is an extraordinary novel by a wildly talented writer." --Emily St. John Mandel

"I recommend Migrations with my whole heart."
--Geraldine Brooks

For fans of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of ca...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Hidden Lives of Owls , Leigh Calvez


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 20:30

2016-08-16T07:00:00Z
A New York Times bestseller for fans of H is for Hawk
 
Join naturalist Leigh Calvez as she explores the secret world of owls, from owl-watching to avian science--often in the dead of night. These creatures have a certain mystery about them, which is just part of what makes them so fascinating. Calvez relays scientific facts ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Sensitivity Analysis: Matrix Methods in Demography and Ecology , Hal Caswell


Published in: itune > Social Science,Books,Nonfiction,Science & Nature,Ecology,Mathematics > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 12:39

2019-04-02T07:00:00Z
This open access book shows how to use sensitivity analysis in demography. It presents new methods for individuals, cohorts, and populations, with applications to humans, other animals, and plants. The analyses are based on matrix formulations of age-classified, stage-classified, and multistate population models. Methods are presented for linear and nonlinear, deter...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Nature's Architect , Jim Crumley


Published in: itune > Nature,Books,Science & Nature,Ecology,Lifestyle & Home,Pets > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 10:44

2015-07-16T07:00:00Z
"Sublime writing... a genuinely important book" --Ken Lussey.

Hundreds of years after their extinction in these isles, beavers are back in Britain. These highly skilled engineers of the natural world have been reintroduced at several sites across the UK and, even as they become established, are already having a dramatic effect on our wild landscapes. [Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Traffic , Tom Vanderbilt


Published in: itune > Sociology,Books,Nonfiction,Social Science,Transportation,Health, Mind & Body,Psychology > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 09:10

2008-07-29T07:00:00Z
A New York Times Notable Book

One of the Best Books of the Year
The Washington Post o The Cleveland Plain-Dealer o Rocky Mountain News

In this brilliant, lively, and eye-opening investigation, Tom Vanderbilt examines the perceptual limits and cognitive underpinnings that make us worse driv...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



2020-04-28T07:00:00Z
We're back on the road for another time, completing research for The Magnificent Homes And Gardens Of The South Carolina Coast, Why at this time in early April?  Because her azaleas are in full bloom and maximum splendor.

Charleston is known as "The Holy City." Despite beliefs that the term dates to the city's earliest days and refers to its ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Chemical Ecology in Aquatic Systems , Christer Br?nmark & Lars-Anders Hansson


Published in: itune > Ecology,Books,Science & Nature,Life Sciences > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 03:08

2012-03-01T08:00:00Z
In recent years it has become increasingly clear that chemical interactions play a fundamental role in aquatic habitats and have far-reaching evolutionary and ecological implications. This book covers a wide range of studies, including both plants and animals, from different geographic regions and habitats - pelagic as well as benthic.



Shared by   |   Permalink



Ecology - Tales from the field , Tim Body


Published in: itune > Nature,Nature,Podcasts,Science > ecology for kids | Published on 25/May/2020 16:13

2020-04-19T20:00:00Z USA



Shared by   |   Permalink



Essentials of Marine Biotechnology , Se-Kwon Kim


Published in: itune > Science & Nature,Books,Life Sciences,Chemistry,Professional & Technical,Medical,Ecology,Environment > Environmental protection | Published on 19/May/2020 00:55

2019-08-31T07:00:00Z
This textbook introduces marine biotechnology by collecting the key knowledge on genetics, fish breeding, genetic diversity, seaweed production and microalgae biotechnology, and explores marine biomaterials and how they can benefit human health. Covering the latest applications of marine biotechnology in natural product development, genomics, transgenic technology, ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Marine Biology: A Very Short Introduction , Philip V. Mladenov


Published in: itune > Biology,Books,Science & Nature,Ecology,Environment > Environmental protection | Published on 19/May/2020 00:05

2020-02-27T08:00:00Z
Philip Mladenov examines the nature and variety of life in the oceans, and its importance to us and to the planet. He considers the human impact on these complex ecosystems, through overfishing, pollution, and climate change, and the actions needed to establish a more sustainable relationship, to protect them for future generations.



Shared by   |   Permalink



Seeing the Universe from Here , G. Wayne Clough


Published in: itune > Essays & Memoirs,Books,Travel & Adventure,Specialty Travel,Professional & Technical,Education > Environmental protection | Published on 18/May/2020 17:04

2016-11-22T08:00:00Z
As the Smithsonian Institution's twelfth Secretary, Dr. G. Wayne Clough traveled extensively to connect with researchers and gain a better understanding of the scope of the Institution's work. While the Smithsonian is comprised of nineteen museums and galleries, a National Zoological Park, and nine research facilities, it also has a research presence in more than on...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Gardener's Botanical , The Gardener's Botanical Ross Bayton


Published in: itune > Gardening,Books,Lifestyle & Home,Science & Nature,Life Sciences,Ecology,Biology,Nature,Reference > Environmental protection | Published on 18/May/2020 15:59

2020-03-10T07:00:00Z
The definitive guide to botanical Latin

Unlock the secrets of botanical Latin with this beautifully illustrated encyclopedia. The Gardener's Botanical contains definitions of more than 5,000 plant names--from abbreviatus ("shortened") to zonatus ("with bands")--along with more than 350 color illustrations.

Scientific...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink





Subject Matters:

From Resources
Activities
Blogs

    Spread the love!
   Share on Facebook now