Globalization and Environmental Challenges Reconceptualizing Security in the 21st Century


Published in: Google Books > Social Science > environmental issues | Published on 27/Jul/2020 20:31

1148 pages , Springer Science & Business Media , 2008-01-23
Put quite simply, the twin impacts of globalization and environmental degradation pose new security dangers and concerns. In this new work on global security thinking, 91 authors from five continents and many disciplines, from science and practice, assess the worldwide reassessment of the meaning of security tri...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Society and the Environment Pragmatic Solutions to Ecological Issues


Published in: Google Books > Social Science > environmental issues | Published on 27/Jul/2020 12:34

352 pages , Routledge , 2020-03-10
Without focusing entirely on what is wrong with the world around us, the third edition of Society and the Environment centers its discussion on realistic solutions to the problems that persist and examines current controversies within a socio-organizational context. After introducing “pragmatic environmentalism,” Carolan discusses t...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Dark Age Ahead , Jane Jacobs


Published in: itune > Economics,Books,Business & Personal Finance,Finance,Nonfiction,Social Science,Sociology > Sustainability | Published on 13/Jul/2020 03:34

2005-05-17T07:00:00Z
In this indispensable book, urban visionary Jane Jacobs argues that as agrarianism gives way to a technology-based future, we're at risk of cultural collapse. Jacobs--renowned author of The Death and Life of Great American Cities and The Economy of Cities--pinpoints five pillars of our culture that are in serious decay: community and fam...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Deep Ancestry , Spencer Wells


Published in: itune > Life Sciences,Books,Science & Nature,Nonfiction,Social Science > environmental issues | Published on 29/Jun/2020 01:27

2006-11-21T08:00:00Z
Travel backward through time from today's scattered billions to the handful of early humans who lived in Africa 60,000 years ago and are ancestors to us all.

In Deep Ancestry, scientist and National Geographic explorer Spencer Wells shows how tiny genetic changes add up over time into a fascinating story. Using scores of real-life examples, helpfu...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Statistics in Environmental Sciences


Published in: Google Books > Social Science > environmental science | Published on 15/Jun/2020 20:49

310 pages , John Wiley & Sons , 2019-09-04
Statistical tools are indispensable for the environmental sciences. They have become an integral part of the scientific process, from the development of the sampling plan to the obtainment of results. Statistics in Environmental Sciences provides the foundation for the interpretation of quantitative data (basic vocabulary, main ...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Environmental Participation Practices engaging the public with science and governance


Published in: Google Books > Social Science > environmental science | Published on 15/Jun/2020 06:40

111 pages , Springer Nature , 2019-12-13
This book introduces environmental participation as a distinct field comprising diverse practices. It presents examples of public participation specifically in environmental science, decision making and expertise. The first chapter introduces the science studies perspective and the key concepts that underpin the argument for appro...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Sensitivity Analysis: Matrix Methods in Demography and Ecology , Hal Caswell


Published in: itune > Social Science,Books,Nonfiction,Science & Nature,Ecology,Mathematics > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 12:39

2019-04-02T07:00:00Z
This open access book shows how to use sensitivity analysis in demography. It presents new methods for individuals, cohorts, and populations, with applications to humans, other animals, and plants. The analyses are based on matrix formulations of age-classified, stage-classified, and multistate population models. Methods are presented for linear and nonlinear, deter...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Traffic , Tom Vanderbilt


Published in: itune > Sociology,Books,Nonfiction,Social Science,Transportation,Health, Mind & Body,Psychology > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 09:10

2008-07-29T07:00:00Z
A New York Times Notable Book

One of the Best Books of the Year
The Washington Post o The Cleveland Plain-Dealer o Rocky Mountain News

In this brilliant, lively, and eye-opening investigation, Tom Vanderbilt examines the perceptual limits and cognitive underpinnings that make us worse driv...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Waste Management And Control


Published in: Google Books > Social Science > environmental management | Published on 25/May/2020 07:48

?????
The truth about environment, waste and landfills! Get All The Support And Guidance You Need To Be A Success At Understanding Waste Management! We only have one planet to live in, so taking care of it should be well considered. Many people might be aware of this, but not all know how to do it right. Waste problems continuously grow with the incessant innovation in the field of tech...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Parenting Matters Supporting Parents of Children Ages 0-8


Published in: Google Books > Social Science > ecology for kids | Published on 11/May/2020 21:50

524 pages , National Academies Press , 2016-11-21
Decades of research have demonstrated that the parent-child dyad and the environment of the familyâ€"which includes all primary caregiversâ€"are at the foundation of children’s well- being and healthy development. From birth, children are learning and rely on parents and the other caregivers in their lives to...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Behavioral Ecology of the Tibetan Macaque , Jin-Hua Li, Lixing Sun & Peter M. Kappeler


Published in: itune > Life Sciences,Books,Science & Nature,Health, Mind & Body,Psychology,Nonfiction,Social Science,Anthropology,Ecology,Professional & Technical,Medical,Veterinary > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 16:28

2019-11-18T08:00:00Z
This open access book summarizes the multi-disciplinary results of one of China's main primatological research projects on the endemic Tibetan macaque (Macaca thibetana), which had continued for over 30 years, but which had never been reported on systematically. Dedicated to this exceptional Old World monkey, this book makes the work of Chinese primatolo...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Mushroom Hunters , Langdon Cook


Published in: itune > Specific Ingredients,Books,Cookbooks, Food & Wine,Science & Nature,Nature,Nonfiction,Social Science > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 13:02

2013-09-10T07:00:00Z
In the tradition of Michael Pollan's The Omnivore's Dilemma, Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief, and Mark Kurlansky's Cod--a renowned culinary adventurer goes into the woods with the iconoclasts and outlaws who seek the world's most coveted ingredient . . . and one of nature's last truly wild foods: the uncultivated, uncontrollable mushroom....[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink





Subject Matters:

From Resources
Activities
Blogs

    Spread the love!
   Share on Facebook now