Deep Ancestry , Spencer Wells


Published in: itune > Life Sciences,Books,Science & Nature,Nonfiction,Social Science > environmental issues | Published on 29/Jun/2020 01:27

2006-11-21T08:00:00Z
Travel backward through time from today's scattered billions to the handful of early humans who lived in Africa 60,000 years ago and are ancestors to us all.

In Deep Ancestry, scientist and National Geographic explorer Spencer Wells shows how tiny genetic changes add up over time into a fascinating story. Using scores of real-life examples, helpfu...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Sensitivity Analysis: Matrix Methods in Demography and Ecology , Hal Caswell


Published in: itune > Social Science,Books,Nonfiction,Science & Nature,Ecology,Mathematics > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 12:39

2019-04-02T07:00:00Z
This open access book shows how to use sensitivity analysis in demography. It presents new methods for individuals, cohorts, and populations, with applications to humans, other animals, and plants. The analyses are based on matrix formulations of age-classified, stage-classified, and multistate population models. Methods are presented for linear and nonlinear, deter...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Traffic , Tom Vanderbilt


Published in: itune > Sociology,Books,Nonfiction,Social Science,Transportation,Health, Mind & Body,Psychology > Sustainability | Published on 01/Jun/2020 09:10

2008-07-29T07:00:00Z
A New York Times Notable Book

One of the Best Books of the Year
The Washington Post o The Cleveland Plain-Dealer o Rocky Mountain News

In this brilliant, lively, and eye-opening investigation, Tom Vanderbilt examines the perceptual limits and cognitive underpinnings that make us worse driv...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Behavioral Ecology of the Tibetan Macaque , Jin-Hua Li, Lixing Sun & Peter M. Kappeler


Published in: itune > Life Sciences,Books,Science & Nature,Health, Mind & Body,Psychology,Nonfiction,Social Science,Anthropology,Ecology,Professional & Technical,Medical,Veterinary > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 16:28

2019-11-18T08:00:00Z
This open access book summarizes the multi-disciplinary results of one of China's main primatological research projects on the endemic Tibetan macaque (Macaca thibetana), which had continued for over 30 years, but which had never been reported on systematically. Dedicated to this exceptional Old World monkey, this book makes the work of Chinese primatolo...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Mushroom Hunters , Langdon Cook


Published in: itune > Specific Ingredients,Books,Cookbooks, Food & Wine,Science & Nature,Nature,Nonfiction,Social Science > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 13:02

2013-09-10T07:00:00Z
In the tradition of Michael Pollan's The Omnivore's Dilemma, Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief, and Mark Kurlansky's Cod--a renowned culinary adventurer goes into the woods with the iconoclasts and outlaws who seek the world's most coveted ingredient . . . and one of nature's last truly wild foods: the uncultivated, uncontrollable mushroom....[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



High Frontiers , Kenneth Michael Bauer


Published in: itune > Ecology,Books,Science & Nature,Nonfiction,Social Science,Life Sciences > Ecology | Published on 04/May/2020 09:12

2004-04-07T07:00:00Z
Dolpo is a culturally Tibetan enclave in one of Nepal's most remote regions. The Dolpo-pa, or people of Dolpo, share language, religious and cultural practices, history, and a way of life. Agro-pastoralists who live in some of the highest villages in the world, the Dolpo-pa wrest survival from this inhospitable landscape through a creative combination of farming, an...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Critical Skills for Environmental Professionals , Jennifer Pontius & Alan McIntosh


Published in: itune > Environment,Books,Science & Nature,Ecology,Nonfiction,Social Science > environmental science | Published on 06/Apr/2020 05:12

2019-12-20T08:00:00Z
This textbook focuses on a set of skills-based learning outcomes common among undergraduate environmental programs. It covers critical scientific skills and ways of thinking that bridge the gap between the knowledge-based content of introductory environmental textbooks and the professional skills students of the environment need to succeed in both their academic pro...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Managing Socio-ecological Production Landscapes and Seascapes for Sustainable Communities in Asia , Osamu Saito, Suneetha M. Subramanian, Shizuka Hashimoto & Kazuhiko Takeuchi


Published in: itune > Environmental Engineering,Books,Professional & Technical,Engineering,Business & Personal Finance,Economics,Science & Nature,Environment,Nonfiction,Social Science,Sociology,Ecology,Politics & Current Events,Public Administration > green energy | Published on 31/Mar/2020 00:30

2020-02-10T08:00:00Z
This open access book presents up-to-date analyses of community-based approaches to sustainable resource management of SEPLS (socio-ecological production landscapes and seascapes) in areas where a harmonious relationship between the natural environment and the people who inhabit it is essential to ensure community and environmental well-being as well as to build res...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Death and Life of Great American Cities , Jane Jacobs


Published in: itune > Sociology,Books,Nonfiction,Social Science > green energy | Published on 30/Mar/2020 21:35

1992-12-01T08:00:00Z
Thirty years after its publication, The Death and Life of Great American Cities was described by The New York Times as "perhaps the most influential single work in the history of town planning....[It] can also be seen in a much larger context.  It is first of all a work of literature; the descriptions of street life as a kind of ballet...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



The Compassionate Hunter's Guidebook , Miles Olson


Published in: itune > Sports & Outdoors,Books,Science & Nature,Nature,Outdoors,Cookbooks, Food & Wine,Ecology,Nonfiction,Philosophy,Ethics,Specific Ingredients > green energy | Published on 30/Mar/2020 15:48

2014-05-01T07:00:00Z
A comprehensive, practical guide for the ethical, compassionate hunter

Wild meat, hunted in a responsible way, is one of the most healthful, sustainable foods possible. Depending on how it is done, hunting can be as local, intimate and humane as it gets. And aside from this, it demands the hunter enter a world of awareness, wildness, life and death that...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Off the Grid , Nick Rosen


Published in: itune > Sociology,Books,Nonfiction,Social Science,Biographies & Memoirs,Science & Nature,Nature > green energy | Published on 30/Mar/2020 05:49

2010-07-27T07:00:00Z
A look inside the subculture of off-grid living, taking readers across the ideological spectrum and across America 

Written by a leading authority on living off the grid, this is a fascinating and timely look at one of the fastest growing movements in America. In researching the stories that would become Off the Grid, Nick Rosen trave...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink



Geo Spirit for Environment and Earth Leadership , Sai Bhaskar Reddy Nakka


Published in: itune > Ecology,Books,Science & Nature,Life Sciences,Nonfiction,Philosophy > green energy | Published on 30/Mar/2020 04:59

2016-06-09T07:00:00Z
Geo Spirit is about everything that one strives for the harmony and well-being of one's inner space and the outer space on this Earth.

Geo Spirit is the consciousness on earth. "Geo Spirit" consists of two realms - "Geo" is the Earth, including biotic and abiotic worlds and "Spirit" is the consciousness of peace, freedom and harmony for oneself and everyt...[Read More]



Shared by   |   Permalink





Subject Matters:

From Resources
Activities
Blogs

    Spread the love!
   Share on Facebook now